Rock Products

OCT 2016

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: http://rock.epubxp.com/i/735810

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 63

4 • ROCK products • October 2016 www.rockproducts.com Editorial Office 11655 Central Parkway, Suite 306 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining-media.com Associate Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining-media.com Graphic Designer, Michael Florman, mflorman@mining-media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining-media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining-media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining-media.com Kyle Nichol, knichol@mining-media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t-online.de Latin America, Sales, Sylvia Palma, sylvia@downeyassociates.cl Classified Adver tising: Christin Doran, (317) 802-7118, cdoran@mining-media.com Project Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining-media.com Production Manager, Dan Fitts, dfitts@mining-media.com Rock Products, Volume 119 Issue 10, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media, Inc., 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining - media. com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining - media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calendar, are available at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non - qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00; 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00; 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00; 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1 303 - 283 - 0640 (USA) or visit www.mining - media.com. SUBSCRIPTIONS: To update or cancel a subscription, email circulation@mining - media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800 - 521 - 0600 or +1 734 - 761 - 4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1 303 - 283 - 0640, Fax: +1 303 - 283 - 0641, www.mining - media.com. PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1 978 - 750 - 8400. Obtain further information at copyright.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA Phone: +1 303 - 283 - 0640, Fax: +1 303 - 283 - 0641, www. mining - media.com. COPYRIGHT 2016: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining - media.com (330) 722 - 4081 There are a lot of different types of companies in the aggregates indus- try, but Mellott Company is unique, to say the least. I found this out first hand on a recent trip to their headquarters in Warfordsburg, Pa. If you don't know anything about Mellott, you can read my feature story that starts on page 16 of this issue. But suffice it to say, this is a company with a fascinating history and evolution. The business was started in 1920 as a lumber company; it has been a multi-quarry aggregates and ready mix operation; and it has evolved into its present incarnation as a contract crushing, engineering, educa- tion, sales and service firm. On my tour of the company's facilities, I constantly found myself saying, "I didn't know you guys did all this." Paul Mellott has been an active participant in aggregates industry activities, through his participation in National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association activities, and state associations as well. Many people know him. But it is what he has done locally that really stands out. As a val- ues-based company dedicated to the community, he has invested time, money and a lot of spirit into making a difference in the lives of students, and making the world around him a better place. And it is not something he has done alone. With his two brothers, Brian and Herman, he guided the company through the recent recession and came out the other side even stronger. He has relied on the expertise and dedication of former Metso veterans Rich Blake and John Stolowski, who were eager to join the company to help achieve his vision. But you have to credit every employee in the company as well. That's the only way Paul Mellott will have it. Mellott Company is dedicated to safety, integrity, commitment, respect and excellence as core values, and I saw that in their offices, on the shop floor, in the yard and on the faces of the people who work at the company. It is a perfect example of what a company representing the aggregates industry should be. A One-of-a-Kind Company

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - OCT 2016