Rock Products

SEP 2017

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: http://rock.epubxp.com/i/872090

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

4 • ROCK products • September 2017 www.rockproducts.com President Donald Trump will not move forward with a planned Advi- sory Council on Infrastructure, according to media reports. The council, which was still being formed, would have advised Trump on his plan to spend as much as $1 trillion upgrading roads, bridges and other public works. The council was scuttled along with several other advisory boards. Not good news. Since he won't be taking advice from them, maybe he'd take advice from the Association of Equipment Manufacturers (AEM). According to AEM, an overwhelming majority of Americans in urban, suburban and rural communities believe that investing in infrastructure will improve the U.S. economy • A massive number (89 percent) of all adults believe that investments in infrastructure will strengthen the U.S. economy, including 86 per- cent of urban and 89 percent of rural Americans. •  More than eight out of every 10 adults (82 percent) agree that invest- ments in infrastructure will increase the number of jobs in their communities, with 84 percent of suburban, 82 percent of urban and 80 percent of rural Americans sharing this belief. • Americans across the country agree that investments in infrastruc- ture will improve their quality of life (81 percent). This sentiment is equally strong in suburbs or towns (82 percent), cities (80 percent) and rural America (79 percent). That is good news too. That's a lot of voters. The National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) will hold its first Legislative Policy Forum in Washington, D.C., Sept. 24-28. It will be held at the Hyatt Regency Capitol Hill. Maybe he'd take advice from them. NSSGA President and CEO Michael W. Johnson emphasized the impor- tance of this meeting, and the impact members could make with their elected representatives. "We have to take a message to Capitol Hill," he said. "Infrastructure investment is critical to keep the economy moving. That is also good news. It means our voice is going to be heard. Or maybe he'd take advice from me. Mr. President, you promised as much as $1 trillion would be spent rebuilding America's infrastruc- ture. This is a win for everyone. It is time to drive a bulldozer down Pennsylvania Ave., clear all of the distractions out of the way and get this done. That would be the best news of all. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Smith, jsmith@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDANAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 120, Issue 9, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: ROCK Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2017: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of The Best News of All

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - SEP 2017