Rock Products

NOV 2017

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: http://rock.epubxp.com/i/900079

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 59

6 • ROCK products • November 2017 www.rockproducts.com A strange phenomenon happened in the national and international media this year. Stories began appearing about a global sand shortage: • World Faces Global Sand Shortage (NPR). • Why There Is A Shortage Of Sand (The Economist). • The World Is Running Out Of Sand (The New Yorker). • The World's Disappearing Sand (The New York Times). • The World Faces A Global Sand Shortage (Business Insider). • The Deadly Global War For Sand (Wired). •  The Demand For Sand Is So High There Are Illegal Sand Mining (Smithsonian Magazine). • The World Is Facing A Global Sand Crisis (The National). • How a Worldwide Sand Shortage Could Devastate the Design World (Architectural Digest). The list goes on and on. Many of the articles focus on international markets, where illegal mines and black market activity have handcuffed availability and driven up prices. In China and Dubai, an unprecedented building boom is devour- ing sand as fast as they can make it. Focusing on the United States, relevant points include diminishing reserves in places such as California; and how population growth now 1) requires more sand to be used and 2) has spawned development to serve that growth, often right on top of possible deposits. Rogue environmental groups have seized on these reports as evidence that we are mining Mother Earth to extinction. Cemex's agreement to phase out operations at its long-running Lapis sand plant in Marina, Calif., was largely due to environmental concerns. That was the last beachfront sand operation in the country. But environmental groups may be doing us a favor here. Now we have a great argument as to why new sand and gravel operations are a neces- sity: We are running out of sand. Then there are the hurricanes. The damage the recent weather events in the Caribbean and Houston, Texas, brought will require enormous amounts of sand. Not to mention our rumored $1 trillion infrastructure plan. The truth is, we have plenty of sand, even if it is often located in incon- venient places. We just have to get deposits permitted and processing facilities up and running. But the price of a ton of sand is now going to be higher because the commodity is in demand and plants will be located further away. While many of us may be asking, what sand shortage, let's go with the current vernacular: we are running out of sand. Because we can fix that. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Smith, jsmith@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDANAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 120, Issue 11, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2017: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of What Sand Shortage?

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - NOV 2017