Rock Products

SEP 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1020992

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 61

4 • ROCK products • September 2018 www.rockproducts.com Every year when we do our Benchmark Survey of aggregates producers, permitting is one of the issues that concerns survey recipients, and with good reason. There are some companies that have complained that it takes 10 to 20 years to get a permit to open a greenfield operation, a plant expansion or even to get an adjacent ready mix or asphalt plant installed. Rock Products is the only industry magazine that includes a permitting update in every issue, so I have had the opportunity to watch activity in this area closely. It seems that almost every permitting battle is not as much aggregates producers bumping heads with government entities as it is bumping heads with organized community groups, with local governments caught in the middle. The Not in My Backyard (NIMBY) groups trot out the same reasons, no matter which part of the county. The main culprits are noise, dust, truck traffic, blasting that cracks the foundation of homes and the devastation of the environment. Aggregates producers can do something about several of these. A good operation makes an effort to alleviate noise and dust as much as pos- sible using the best technology at their disposal. Truck traffic can be mitigated to a certain extent through proper routing, but it also takes some PR work to convince people that trucks are not tearing up the roads, running cars into the ditch and leaving pebbles bouncing across the pavement that are going to shatter a windshield or two. The blasting complaints that producers face are largely a case of black being white. House foundations crack. It's a fact of life. Heck, I don't live within 10 miles of a quarry and my foundation is cracked. This is mostly an attempt to scapegoat quarries. Fears of environmental devastation can be difficult to combat, especially if a quarry is located near state or national park land, in mountainous regions or parts of the county where hunting, fishing, boating, biking and hiking are especially prevalent. When it comes to greenfield operations, one of the NIMBY tactics is to ask why the quarry can't be located elsewhere. Well, it's about geology. I received a phone call not that long ago from a now-retired quarry operator, Michael Nelson. He quoted me the words of Judge Lee Town Adams, who stated while granting a quarry permit and overruling a NIMBY Group: "Minerals have not minds of their own and do not seek zoned areas in which to establish themselves." The judge said a mouthful there. Good luck with your permitting battles. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 9, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of If You Will Permit Me

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - SEP 2018