Rock Products

JAN 2013

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/102692

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 67

Taking A Leap Ahead Editorial Office 11555 Central Parkway, Suite 401 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 As we kick off 2013, we pause to take a look at where we currently are as an industry, and where we might potentially go. Our Outlook/Forecast feature starting on page 16 gives you the entire scoop. Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 Where We Are Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining‐media.com Assistant Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining‐media.com Graphic Designer, Francesca Peeples, fpeeples@mining‐media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining‐media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining‐media.com Vice President/Sales & Marketing, John Bold, jbold@mining‐media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining‐media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t‐online.de Classified Advertising: Eastern Gina Kelly, (866) 293‐5001, gkelly@mining‐media.com, Western Christin Doran, (866) 293‐5001, cdoran@mining‐media.com Show Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining‐media.com Ad Traffic Manager, Erica Freeman, efreeman@mining‐media.com The third quarter of 2012 went poorly for aggregates producers, howev‐ er the nine‐month totals for production actually showed a year‐over‐ year increase. According to the latest report just released by the U.S. Geological Survey, an estimated 580 metric tons (Mt) of total construc‐ tion aggregates was produced and shipped for consumption in the United States in the third quarter of 2012, a decrease of 5 percent com‐ pared with that of the same period of 2011. However, the estimated pro‐ duction for consumption in the first nine months of 2012 was 1.48 bil‐ lion metric tons (Gt), a slight increase compared with that of the same period of 2011. The U.S. Census Bureau of the Department of Commerce announced that construction spending for the latest month and year‐to‐date was up. The one big down spot was highways, which year‐over‐year, was down. New construction starts during the first 11 months of 2012 on an unad‐ justed basis were reported at $424.4 billion, up 3 percent compared to the same period a year ago, according to McGraw‐Hill Construction, a division of The McGraw‐Hill Companies. Again, one of the down areas was in the highway construction sector, which was down 9 percent. Where We Are Going The U.S. transportation construction infrastructure market is expected to show modest growth in 2013, increasing three percent from $126.5 bil‐ lion to $130.3 billion, according to the American Road and Transportation Builders Association's (ARTBA) annual forecast. Growth is expected in highway and street pavements, private work for driveways and parking lots, airport terminal and runway work, railroads, and port and waterway construction. ARTBA predicts the bridge market, which has shown sub‐ stantial growth over the last 10 years, to remain flat this year. In a 2013 construction forecast released Dec. 4, Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) Chief Economist Anirban Basu predicted nonresiden‐ tial construction spending to expand 5.2 percent this year, with much of the expansion coming from privately financed projects. Upward trends in recent months among a number of housing indicators point to a slow and steady growth in the nation's housing market in 2013. Meanwhile, the number of improving housing markets across the nation continues to show con‐ siderable advancement. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining‐media.com (330) 722‐4081 Member: Construction Writers Association 4 ROCKproducts • JANUARY 2013 Rock Products, Volume 116, Issue 1, (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published monthly by Mining Media, Inc, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining‐ media.com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining‐ media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscrip‐ tion request forms and an editorial calendar, are available on the World Wide Web at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non‐qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00, 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00, 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00, 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 (USA) or visit www.mining‐media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform avail‐ ability, contact ProQuest at 800‐521‐0600 or +1.734.761.4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1.303.283.0640, Fax: +1.303.283.0641, www.mining‐ media.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, per‐ sonal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. Obtain further information at copyright.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA phone: +1.303.283.0640, fax: +1.303.283.0641, www.mining‐media.com COPYRIGHT 2013: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. www.rockproducts.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - JAN 2013