Rock Products

OCT 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1035509

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 87

4 • ROCK products • October 2018 www.rockproducts.com In this issue, we feature an exclusive op-ed written by David G. Zatezalo, assistant secretary mine safety and health (see page 54.) As the head of MSHA, he has the important job of overseeing that agency's enforcement efforts and industry outreach. Dave and I have a few things in common. We are both affiliated with the mining industry; we both graduated from Ohio University in Athens, Ohio (undergrad for me, grad school for him); and we both have a vested interest in seeing that every person who works in the aggregates indus- try goes home safe and sound at the end of the day. Zatezalo identifies the category of powered haulage – including large surface equipment and belt conveyors – as responsible for an inordinate number of fatal accidents. Powered haulage accounted for half of the 28 fatalities recorded in 2017 and more than half of the 16 recorded so far this year. Zatezalo's message could not have come at a more critical time. When he sent his op-ed, there had been 14 fatalities in the mining industry (seven in metal/nonmetal). Since that time, two more have occurred, both powered haulage fatalities in the nonmetal sector. • On Aug. 8, a powered haulage accident occurred at Dry Creek Farms LLC, Marion County, Tenn. – a dimensional stone operation. Details have not been released. •  On Aug. 22, a 29-year-old miner with one year of experience was fatally injured at a Haines & Kibblehouse aggregates plant while cleaning a snub pulley. The victim was working from an aerial lift located under the belt conveyor when he became entangled in the conveyor pulley. To encourage input on how to prevent powered haulage accidents, MSHA has issued a formal Request for Information. Comments will be accepted until Dec. 24, 2018, at www.regulations.gov. The agency's questions include: •  Can proximity detection devices be used to prevent large mobile equipment such as haul trucks and front-end loaders from running over occupied vehicles? • How can we ensure seatbelt usage among equipment operators? •  Can technology help ensure that workers performing work around belt conveyors are protected from injury and death? I encourage you to participate and give MSHA the feedback it needs on this important topic. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 10, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of Here's Dave

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - OCT 2018