Rock Products

NOV 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1044896

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 107

4 • ROCK products • November 2018 www.rockproducts.com At the recent Intercem Americas conference in Miami, Colin Sutherland, president of SC Market Analytics, talked about infrastructure market dynamics that will impact the construction economy. He provided an optimistic versus pessimistic forecast. Here are some of his conclusions: The General Economy Optimistic: The economy does better than it has recently as real annual GDP growth remains near 3 percent. Lower corporate taxes stimulate investment even in the face of rising interest rates. Pessimistic: Lower corporate taxes and regulation reform peter out and rising interest rates diminish business investment. Real GDP growth under 2 percent for several years. Residential Activity Optimistic: A near-term plateau as favorable household formation rates encounter affordability hurdles, rising mortgage rates and structural changes that would otherwise push home construction higher. Pessimistic: Rising interest rates, high prices and slowing employ- ment growth finally bite residential demand and cause 5 to 15 percent declines in most areas. Nonresidential Building Optimistic: Another near-term plateau as support for new projects meet the headwinds of slower employment growth and a weak "bricks and mortar" sector. Pessimistic: Slowing employment growth and a continuation of the "retail ice age" continue to hamper demand. Warehousing supply begins to exceed demand, causing declines for this category. Nonbuilding Sector Optimistic: Sector grows by 18 percent from 2017-21 as higher state gas taxes and federal support pave the way for new infrastructure projects. Pessimistic: Demand begins to level off, then modest declines as health care and pension costs rise and tax receipts flatten. Of course, a fully funded federal infrastructure bill solves many of the possible clouds on the horizon. It would be nice to see Congress and president come to an agreement on that. By the time you read this, midterm elections will be over. That may better provide us with reasons to believe in his optimistic or pessimistic forecast. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 11, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of Optimism Versus Pessimism

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - NOV 2018