Rock Products

JAN 2019

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1067915

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 101

4 • ROCK products • January 2019 www.rockproducts.com If you are the Rockhill Quarry in East Rockhill, Pa., you have to wonder what a business has to do to make a little stone around here. The quarry – owned by Lehigh Hanson, a subsidiary of HeidelbergCe- ment, and operated by Richard E. Pierson Materials Corp. – sparked controversy in the local community last year when it restarted full oper- ations for the first time since the early 1980s. Nearby residents articulated the usual list of complaints: noise and drinking water pollution, truck traffic and environmental degradation. Despite that, the quarry was granted a permit to operate. Additional positive news came the operation's way last month when the Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) announced approval for the construction of a new rock-crushing plant at the site. The company was informed the plant could be constructed immediately, with full operation pending a change to quarry's permit. That meant ramping up to 1,000 tph, and production of up to 800,000 tons a year. But that good news was immediately tempered by the discovery of asbestos at the quarry. Yes, asbestos. That is when the proverbial you- know-what hit the fan. The DEP ordered all mining, rock crushing and sizing, and other related activities at the quarry to cease. Indeed, asbestos was discovered in unprocessed rock. But let's be honest here. That does not mean that there are unsafe levels in the air. This is not the same as finding asbestos in an old building, where friable fibers have a good chance of ending up in someone's lungs. The community, quite simply, is not at risk here. And it didn't take long for the politicos to get in on the act. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick. (R-District 8) of Middletown, wrote a letter to Pennsylva- nia Gov. Tom Wolf requesting that "Any redevelopment of the Rockhill Quarry be suspended until a more thorough environmental review of the site can be conducted." The DEP's order to close the quarry is an over-reaction. Pierson has a $224 million contract with the Pennsylvania Turnpike to use the rock to improve our roads and bridges. Let the work proceed. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 122, Issue 1, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2019: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of Defending Rockhill

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - JAN 2019