Rock Products

FEB 2019

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1077150

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 113

4 • ROCK products • February 2019 www.rockproducts.com Government shutdowns have consequences. We can debate border security and methods to achieve it and we can debate who is to blame and point fingers at President Trump or the Democrats in Congress. But one thing we can't debate is that the recent shutdown hurt business. Damage has been done. It is called the domino effect. •  Congress has not increased the amount of money it authorized to spend from the Highway Trust Fund. That means lawmakers aren't following the plan for annual increases that they devised in 2015 when they passed FAST Act, which by the way, runs out at the end of the year. Here come those temporary authorizations again. • Some state departments of transportation are beginning to curtail planning for new projects while several mass transit systems are scrambling as many rely on federal grants for both operating reve- nues and capital funding. •  States can't access their whole year's worth of 2019 money from the Highway Trust Fund, as they could in other years. Typically, the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) makes that money available at the beginning of the fiscal year the previous October. But the con- tinuing resolution only included authorization for FHWA to distribute about a quarter of the yearly total. • Transit agencies basically won't be able to start applying for grants to fund new construction projects once the shutdown is over. The Federal Transit Administration typically only makes grants available during a fiscal year once it has had five months' worth of appropria- tions. So far, in the 2019 fiscal year, it's had less than three. •  Federal contractors were among the workers hardest hit by the recent partial government shutdown. Not only did they not get paid during it, they also won't receive any back pay. The question becomes, how often is this going to happen? How many shutdowns will we have to endure with the accompanying disruptions in pay, service and legislative continuity? The economy was humming along and that shutdown did nothing to improve it. Washington needs to get its act together and work together. Business depends on it. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 122, Issue 2, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2019: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of The Domino Effect

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - FEB 2019