Rock Products

MAR 2019

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/1087256

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 95

4 • ROCK products • March 2019 www.rockproducts.com This year's AGG1 show was held in Indianapolis, and if you are a weather aficionado, you got to see it all. Sunshine and blue skies on the day we arrived, a few inches of snow the next day, then some sleet, high winds and cold temperatures, then plain cloudiness and a temperature boost right after. Good thing we were inside most of the time. This year's show was maybe the best ever, on multiple levels. More than 10,000 people attended – a new record – with people coming from all 50 states, including 1,500 from Indiana alone. International attendance also increased. I knew something was going on when, while speaking with the representative from a company that sells portable crushing plants, we were interrupted by someone who wanted to introduce him to a cabinet minister from the country of Nigeria. While almost every exhibitor we spoke with lauded the increased traffic and excellent business opportunities, it was the larger picture that told the full story. Meetings with aggregates producers were fruitful, and the attitude was optimistic, despite the 800-lb. gorilla in the room: the FAST Act is running out, well, fast, and the Trump administration has not focused on infrastructure as promised. At the National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) convention, held just prior to AGG1, association President and CEO Michael John- son commented that now might be the best opportunity we have ever had to pass a substantive infrastructure bill, financed by an increase in the gas tax. "The time is now. A collective commitment and bipartisan compromise are essential to finally making the much overdue and badly needed investment required if the U.S. is going to continue to be the strongest economy and the most secure nation in the world," he said. Rock Products once again sponsored the Young Leaders Luncheon as part of AGG1 and the NSSGA convention. Former Navy Seal Mike Sarraille of Echelon Front, a group of decorated, combat-proven veterans, spoke about leadership to a rapt audience. We like to think we understand a little bit about leadership here at the industry's number-one magazine. We will be taking Mike's message to heart. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 122, Issue 1, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2019: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of AGG1, 'Weather' You Like It Or Not

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - MAR 2019