Rock Products

JUN 2013

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/135447

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 67

ON THE MARK How Much Do You Pay in Gas Taxes? Approximately 80 percent of Americans say having safe, efficient and well‐maintained transportation infrastructure is at least, if not more, important to our personal livelihood and well‐being than good cable, cell phone, internet, water, sewage, and household electricity and natu‐ ral gas services. Not surprisingly, given the importance Americans place on transportation assets, 74 percent of us agree that "investing in transportation infrastructure should be a core function of the federal government." Those are key findings of a first‐ever national poll conducted by the American Road & Transportation Builders Association to see how valu‐ able Americans think our road and transit network is to the nation, our everyday life, and relative to other modern necessities we routinely rely upon. The poll found Americans place a high value on good roads and public transit because: n n n 78 percent say driving a motor vehicle is "very" or "extremely" important to our ability to conduct our daily lives. Twenty‐one per‐ cent (including 34 percent of low income respondents) say the same about using public transportation. 88 percent say transportation infrastructure is important to maintaining a strong U.S. economy. 83 percent say our transportation network is important in ensuring national defense and emergency response capabilities. But here's the disconnect that explains why many of us are suffering from traffic congestion and the outcomes from less than optimal sys‐ tem upkeep. Asked the question how much their household pays each month in gas taxes, 40 percent of respondents say they don't know. In fact, according to Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) data, the average U.S. household paid $46 per month in gas taxes in 2011, the most current year available. U.S. Commerce Department 2011 data indicates that the average household spends about $160 each month for electricity and natural gas; $161, on average, for landline and cell phone service; and nearly $124 per month for cable and satellite television, radio and internet access. That's embarrassing. We have 65,000 structurally deficient bridges that are being crossed 249 mil‐ lion times every day – and in fact, at press time, one in the state of Washington just fell into a river – yet we pay next to nothing for repair and con‐ struction of safe highways. That has to change. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining‐media.com (330) 722‐4081 Member: Construction Writers Association 4 ROCKproducts • JUNE 2013 Editorial Office 11555 Central Parkway, Suite 401 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining‐media.com Assistant Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining‐media.com Graphic Designer, Francesca Peeples, fpeeples@mining‐media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining‐media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining‐media.com Vice President/Sales & Marketing, John Bold, jbold@mining‐media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining‐media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t‐online.de Classified Advertising: Eastern Gina Kelly, (866) 293‐5001, gkelly@mining‐media.com, Western Christin Doran, (866) 293‐5001, cdoran@mining‐media.com Show Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining‐media.com Ad Traffic Manager, Erica Freeman, efreeman@mining‐media.com Rock Products, Volume 116 Issue 6, (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published month‐ ly by Mining Media, Inc., 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining‐media.com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and addi‐ tional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining‐media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calendar, are available at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified sub‐ scribers. Non‐qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00; 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00; 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00; 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1 303‐283‐0640 (USA) or visit www.mining‐media.com. SUBSCRIPTIONS: To update or cancel a subscription, email circulation@mining‐media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800‐521‐0600 or +1 734‐761‐ 4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐0641, www.mining‐media.com. PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1 978‐750‐8400. Obtain further information at copyright.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐ 0641, www.mining‐media.com. COPYRIGHT 2013: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. www.rockproducts.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - JUN 2013