Rock Products

DEC 2013

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/226488

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 67

ON THE MARK Time to Buy Editorial Office 11555 Central Parkway, Suite 401 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Welcome to Rock Products' North American Buyers' Guide and Directory issue. There are signs that 2014 will certainly be a year for buying. Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 The American Road & Transportation Builders Association is forecast‐ ing that beyond a modest increase in construction costs nationwide, the overall U.S. transportation infrastructure construction market will grow 5 percent from $129 billion this year to $135.8 billion in 2014. Researchers at FMI predict Construction Put‐in‐Place growth rates to be slightly ahead of the GDP in 2014. Construction employment and builder confidence are both up right now, according to industry reports. According to Edward Sullivan, Portland Cement Association group vice president and chief economist, it is possible that all sectors of construc‐ tion will record growth – residential, nonresidential and possibly pub‐ lic. While the growth will be broad based, half of it will come from resi‐ dential construction. In their most‐recent quarterly reports, both Vulcan Materials and Martin Marietta Materials look forward to increased business in 2014. That's a good sign for aggregates producers of all shapes and sizes. Voters across the nation again confirmed the high value they place on transportation infrastructure improvements by approving 91 percent of November 5 ballot measures to increase or extend funding for high‐ ways, bridges and transit, and electing two transportation advocates for governor. The votes for infrastructure improvements are especially encouraging, since in the past, voters have been reluctant to approve such measures. Most importantly, 2014 is a ConExpo‐Con/Agg year, which is the pre‐ mier buying opportunity for the nation's aggregates producers. The 2014 show is going to be a monster, with more than 2,400 exhibitors showcasing new products and technologies for every major construc‐ tion industry including asphalt, aggregates, concrete, earthmoving, lift‐ ing, mining, utilities and more. More than 130,000 attendees will have the chance to explore almost 2.5 million sq. ft. of exhibit space. The 800‐lb. gorilla in the room is the need to reauthorize MAP‐21, which expires in 2014. If Congress surprises us and actually accomplishes something there, next year will be a great year guaranteed. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining‐media.com (330) 722‐4081 Member: Construction Writers Association 4 ROCKproducts • DECEMBER 2013 Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining‐media.com Assistant Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining‐media.com Graphic Designer, Francesca Peeples, fpeeples@mining‐media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining‐media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining‐media.com Vice President/Sales & Marketing, John Bold, jbold@mining‐media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining‐media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t‐online.de Classified Advertising: Christin Doran, (317) 802‐7118, cdoran@mining‐media.com New Business Manager: Norm Rose, (770) 664‐0608, nrose@mining‐media.com Show Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining‐media.com Production Manager, Dan Fitts, dfitts@mining‐media.com Rock Products, Volume 116 Issue 12, (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published monthly by Mining Media, Inc., 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining‐media.com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining‐media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an edi‐ torial calendar, are available at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified sub‐ scribers. Non‐qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00; 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00; 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00; 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1 303‐283‐0640 (USA) or visit www.mining‐media.com. SUBSCRIPTIONS: To update or cancel a subscription, email circulation@mining‐media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800‐521‐0600 or +1 734‐761‐ 4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐0641, www.mining‐media.com. PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1 978‐750‐8400. Obtain further information at copyright.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐ 0641, www.mining‐media.com. COPYRIGHT 2013: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. www.rockproducts.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - DEC 2013