Rock Products

OCT 2014

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/394444

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 67

ROCK products • OCTOBER 2014 www.rockproducts.com 4 Rock Products, Volume 117 Issue 10, (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published month‐ ly by Mining Media, Inc., 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining‐media.com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and addi‐ tional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining‐media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calendar, are available at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified sub‐ scribers. Non‐qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00; 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00; 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00; 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1 303‐283‐0640 (USA) or visit www.mining‐media.com. SUBSCRIPTIONS: To update or cancel a subscription, email circula‐ tion@mining‐media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800‐521‐0600 or +1 734‐761‐ 4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐0641, www.mining‐media.com. PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1 978‐750‐8400. Obtain further information at copy‐ right.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA Phone: +1 303‐283‐0640, Fax: +1 303‐283‐0641, www.mining‐media.com. COPYRIGHT 2014: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Editorial Office 11555 Central Parkway, Suite 401 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining‐media.com Associate Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining‐media.com Graphic Designer, Austin St. Clair, astclair@mining‐media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining‐media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining‐media.com Vice President/Sales & Marketing, John Bold, jbold@mining‐media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining‐media.com Kyle Nichol, knichol@mining‐media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t‐online.de Classified Adver tising: Christin Doran, (317) 802‐7118, cdoran@mining‐media.com New Business Manager: Norm Rose, (770) 664‐0608, nrose@mining‐media.com Show Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining‐media.com Production Manager, Dan Fitts, dfitts@mining‐media.com et's get this out of the way right now. The Transportation Empowerment Act is bad for the aggregates industry. In case you haven't heard about it, the ill‐conceived bill would strip away most federal funding for surface transportation projects and virtually eliminate the federal government's constitutionally mandated role in promoting interstate commerce. Among the sponsors in the House are Michele Bachman (R‐Minn.), Tom Graves, R‐Ga.) and John Mica (R‐Fla.), former chairman of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee; while in the Senate, Mike Lee (R‐Utah), Ted Cruz, (R‐Texas), Deb Fischer (R‐Neb.) Ron Johnson (R‐ Wis.) and Pat Roberts (R‐Kan.) are pushing the legislation. Nearly every major association working on behalf of the construction‐ materials and transportation industries opposes the bill. This includes AAA, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, American Concrete Pavement Association, American Highway Users Alliance, American Road and Transportation Builders Association, American Society of Civil Engineers, American Trucking Associations, Associated Equipment Distributors, Associated General Contractors of America, Association of Equipment Manufacturers, Concrete Reinforcing Steel Institute, National Asphalt Pavement Association, National Ready Mixed Concrete Association, National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association, National Utility Contractors Association, Portland Cement Association and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce. The bill would reduce funding for the federal‐aid highway program by more than 80 percent by 2019, from $45 billion to less than $8 billion, with no consideration of the impact on state and local governments or private industry. Left on their own, some states would have to raise gas taxes to exorbitant levels to meet the demand, or simply allow roads and bridges to crumble. In a joint letter sent to members of congress, stakeholders make a valid point that "devolution proposals" are not a solution to the long‐term infrastructure‐funding question, but rather serve as a distraction from the debate about how best to fund our nation's infrastructure. Congress has failed to act on adequate funding for transportation, and instead of looking to the future, all they can offer is a short‐term, short‐ sighted plan designed to help them appear fiscally frugal. It is high time these masters of bait and switch, charades and political tomfoolery step aside, and allow someone to do the job that they cannot. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining‐media.com (330) 722‐4081 Member: Construction Writers Association Transportation Empowerment Act Fails Us L

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - OCT 2014