Rock Products

JAN 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/921242

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 73

4 • ROCK products • January 2018 www.rockproducts.com This is our 2018 Outlook/Forecast issue, and thus it is that time of year when it makes sense to take stock of where we are and where we are going. There is nothing we can talk about without first mentioning the 500-lb. gorilla in the room: A new federal infrastructure plan. When it happens that changes everything. At press time, there were rumblings that the long-rumored Trump infra- structure plan calls for allocating approximately $200 billion in federal funds over 10 years and counts on states, localities and the private sector to kick in $800 billion to reach the promised $1 trillion in investment. I was hoping for larger federal investment and an increase in the gas tax, which hasn't been raised since 1993. Also, states, localities and the private sector already kick in a lot, so counting on multiple unpredictable state governments to pay even more is going to be a stretch. Here is what we know: all signs are that U.S. aggregates production will be down slightly when 2017 numbers are calculated. The U.S. transportation infrastructure market is anticipated to rebound slightly next year, following a 2.8 percent drop in 2017, according to the American Road & Transportation Builders Association's (ARTBA) economic forecast released Nov. 30. I participated in ARTBA's webcast. Total domestic transportation construction and related-market activity is forecast to reach $255 billion in 2018, a year-on-year increase of 3.2 percent after adjusting for project costs and inflation. The 2017 market performance is expected to come in at $247.1 billion. Although the overall U.S. transportation infrastructure market will see modest growth in 2018, the situation will likely vary significantly by state and region, according to ARTBA Chief Economist Dr. Alison Premo Black. The market is forecast to grow in 20 states and Washington, D.C., and slow in 23 states, with the remaining seven expected to be relatively flat. Dodge Data & Analytics also released its 2018 Dodge Construction Out- look. The report predicts that total U.S. construction starts for 2018 will climb 3 percent to $765 billion. Public works construction will improve 3 percent, slightly more than the 1 percent growth in 2017. Highways and bridges should be helped as federal funding rises to the levels called for by the FAST Act, while the environmental categories will partly reflect reconstruc- tion efforts related to Hurricanes Harvey and Irma, the report predicted. So the outlook is pretty good. The fore- cast is positive. Now we just need to let the 500-lb. gorilla out of its cage. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Smith, jsmith@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDANAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 1, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of What's Up Ahead?

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - JAN 2018