Rock Products

FEB 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/934017

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 7 of 85

4 • ROCK products • February 2018 www.rockproducts.com Industry organizations have been quietly advocating for an increase in the gasoline sales tax – aka user fees – for a long time. After all, it has not been raised since 1993. The Highway Trust Fund is clearly ailing. Now, industry advocates have a big stick swinging on their behalf. The national Chamber of Commerce has come out with a recommendation to boost the gasoline sales tax by 25 cents per gallon. The proposal was formally introduced by the Chamber, part of a series of principles the business group is offering in a bid to help shape the debate about upgrading roads, bridges, airports and other infrastructure. Chamber President Thomas J. Donohue said his organization wants, "to put our oar in the water" and said that it would be "a tough vote" to raise the gas tax for the first time since 1993. But he said that support has been building in the business community and elsewhere. "I've been pushing this for a long, long time, but now gangs of people are pushing it," Donohue said in an interview in which he also said immigration reform would be critical to ensuring that sufficient labor is available for public works projects. What is the issue for our politicians? I believe it can be traced back to the 1980s, when President George H.W. Bush said, "Read my lips. No new taxes," then promptly agreed to tax increases as part of a 1990 budget agreement. He paid a steep political price for that. Then there is Grover Norquist, and the Americans for Tax Reform, an organization that opposes all tax increases. Norquist insists that poli- ticians sign a Taxpayer Protection Pledge promising not to vote for tax increases. Members of Congress who go back on their pledge can expect an opposition candidate to run against them in their next primary elec- tion, courtesy of Norquist. So fear of voting for a tax increase of any kind is top of mind for many politicians, because there are consequences. But now, with the Chamber of Commerce as an ally, maybe some representatives will think again. Truth is, the time is right. Businesses benefit from improved roads and bridges as well as consumers. And those roads and bridges are not getting any better. It's time for our politicians to step up to the plate and properly fund investment in our future. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jsmith@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 2, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of It's Time to Raise the Gas Tax

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - FEB 2018