Rock Products

NOV 2012

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/94280

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 87

Editorial Office Changing of the Guard The changing of the guard at the National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) is now complete. Gus Edwards, NSSGA's executive vice president since 2008, has been elected by the board of directors to succeed Joy Pinniger as the associa‐ tion's president and CEO. It is a promotion I heartily endorse. Pinniger – who has led the association since 1996 – recently retired and plans to relocate for at least a good part of each year to live with her hus‐ band in England. She is to be applauded for her service to the industry and guidance at the helm of the industry's major national association, from the boom years through the Great Recession. I wish her well in her future endeavors. Edwards brings a wealth of experience to the job. He began his service with the old National Stone Association (NSA) in 1997 as vice president for public affairs. After the merger of NSA and the National Aggregates Association in 2000, he continued as vice president for communications and community relations until his appointment as executive vice president. Prior to joining NSA, Edwards was vice president for environment, health and safety with The Jefferson Group, a Washington, D.C., consult‐ ing firm. He had previously served as U.S. deputy assistant secretary of commerce for oceans and atmosphere and deputy assistant administra‐ tor for external affairs at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Those appointments were preceded by 12 years working on Capitol Hill as chief of staff to a member of the U.S. House of Representatives and a U.S. senator. So what can we expect from the Edwards Administration? NSSGA has grown and expanded its roll on Capitol Hill, a necessary strategic move, and that certainly will continue. As far as member outreach, no question, I expect Gus already has his hardhat and boots packed, and is planning to stomp around quarries from Maine to California. I predict the Agg1 show will continue to grow and expand. Most importantly, NSSGA and the entire industry will benefit from Gus's steady hand, sound decision‐making and posi‐ tive outlook. Here's to a long and successful tenure as head of NSSGA. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@mining‐media.com (330) 722‐4081 Member: Construction Writers Association 4 ROCKproducts • NOVEMBER 2012 Rock Products, Volume 115, Issue 11 , (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published monthly by Mining Media, Inc, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113 (mining‐ media.com). Periodicals Postage paid at Englewood, CO, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Email: circulation@mining‐ media.com. Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscrip‐ tion request forms and an editorial calendar, are available on the World Wide Web at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non‐qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year, $82.00, 2 year, $139.00. Outside the USA and Canada, 1 year, $134.00, 2 year, $249.00 surface mail (1 year, $191.00, 2 year, $352.00 airmail delivery). For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 (USA) or visit www.mining‐media.com. ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and Proquest. For microform avail‐ ability, contact ProQuest at 800‐521‐0600 or +1.734.761.4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, P.O. Box 1337, Skokie, IL 60076 USA. REPRINTS: Mining Media Inc, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA. Phone: +1.303.283.0640, Fax: +1.303.283.0641, www.mining‐ media.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, per‐ sonal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. Obtain further information at copyright.com. EXECUTIVE OFFICE: Mining Media, Inc., 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA phone: +1.303.283.0640, fax: +1.303.283.0641, www.mining‐media.com COPYRIGHT 2012: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. www.rockproducts.com 11555 Central Parkway, Suite 401 Jacksonville, Florida 32224 U.S.A. Phone: +1.904.721.2925 • Fax: +1.904.721.2930 Mining Media International Corporate Office 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. Phone: +1.303.283.0640 • Fax: +1.303.283.0641 Editor, Mark S. Kuhar, mkuhar@mining‐media.com Assistant Editor, Josephine Smith, jsmith@mining‐media.com Graphic Designer, Francesca Peeples, fpeeples@mining‐media.com Vice President/Editorial Director, Steve Fiscor, sfiscor@mining‐media.com President/Publisher, Peter Johnson, pjohnson@mining‐media.com Vice President/Sales & Marketing, John Bold, jbold@mining‐media.com U.S. & Canada, Sales, Sean Carr, scarr@mining‐media.com Scandinavia, UK and European Sales Manager, Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com German Sales Manager, Gerd Strasmann, StrasmannMedia@t‐online.de Classified Adver tising: Eastern Gina Kelly, (866) 293‐5001, gkelly@mining‐media.com, Western Christin Doran, (866) 293‐5001, cdoran@mining‐media.com Show Manager, Tanna Holzer, tholzer@mining‐media.com Ad Traffic Manager, Erica Freeman, efreeman@mining‐media.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - NOV 2012