Rock Products

APR 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/959364

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 67

4 • ROCK products • April 2018 www.rockproducts.com IN THE KNOW I was in Houston last month for the AGG1 show. Trade shows are great to re-connect with old friends – producers as well as manufacturers – and meet new ones; see the latest equipment and technology; and take the pulse of the industry. I can tell you based on my many conversations the state of the industry is quite good. There is still a lot of industry optimism, despite aggregates production being flat last year and no real action coming from Wash- ington on promised infrastructure investment. Right now the industry is running on optimism. That is certainly a good place to be, and a nice staging area for an industry ready to take off. But the waiting game continues. Will we get that $1.5 trillion shot in the arm any time soon? While we are all waiting, here are two pieces of good news. •  A new report finds quarries do not reduce home values. In a new policy paper entitled "Quarry Operations and Property Values: Revis- iting Old and Investigating New Empirical Evidence," Phoenix Center scholars Dr. George S. Ford and Professor R. Alan Seals of Auburn University analyze the relationship between home prices and quarry operations and find no compelling statistical evidence that either the anticipation of, or the ongoing operation of, rock quarries negatively impacts home prices. If anything, the Phoenix Center's scholars find that home prices fall – not rise – as the distance from the quarry increases. A full copy of Phoenix Center Policy Paper No. 53, "Quarry Operations and Property Values: Revisiting Old and Investigating New Empirical Evidence," may be downloaded free from the Phoenix Cen- ter's website at www.phoenix-center.org. •  According to the most current data from the Bureau of Labor Sta- tistics, it is safer to work in a quarry than a retail store. Preliminary estimates indicate that aggregates operations attained a new record low injury rate in 2017, according to the Mine Safety and Health Administration. This year's rate is estimated at 1.74 per 200,000 hours worked, is lower than that of a retail operation. This translates to less than two reportable injuries for a workforce of 100 miners over the course of a year. Hope you can use this information some- where – while you are waiting. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 4, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of Two Pieces of Good News – While Your Are Waiting

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - APR 2018