Rock Products

MAY 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/975141

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 75

4 • ROCK products • May 2018 www.rockproducts.com Make no mistake, the world is getting more technologically advanced. Whether it is your tablet, phone, apps or the internet of things; or whether it is plant automation, machine telematics or fleet management, the path to greater profitability and better productivity is technology. Having said that, the last place I would have expected to see immediate innovations in technology was at the Mine Safety and Health Adminis- tration (MSHA). Imagine my surprise upon learning that MSHA has initiated the deploy- ment of a Mobile Inspection Application System (Mobile IAS) to "further enhance the efficiency and effectiveness of mine inspectors and to better carry out MSHA's core mission of promoting the health and safety of America's miners." According to the agency, nearly 1,500 federal mine inspectors across the nation and enforcement staff will benefit from this new technology. The Mobile IAS replaces an 18-year-old system that required mine inspectors to carry bulky laptops, cameras, reference material and docu- mentation from previous inspections. The new Mobile IAS integrates all of these features into one application to provide the latest technologies that securely store and transfer data, while improving ease of use. "Enabling mine inspectors to work more efficiently means more time to focus on the health and safety of America's miners," said MSHA Assistant Secretary David G. Zatezalo. "MSHA's Mobile IAS is expected to improve the quality of information by eliminating redundancy, and provide more timely information for inspectors." Among the features of MSHA's Mobile IAS are: •  A Windows-based, lightweight, semi-ruggedized tablet with a camera, video, voice recording, touch screen, digital pen, Bluetooth and Wi-Fi capability to facilitate data capture and streamline the inspection process. •  An application built on Microsoft's Universal Windows platform with photo capture and fillable, pre-populated forms. •  Service-oriented architecture for efficient data transfer among devices and the MSHA Standardized Information System. Kudos to Assistant Secretary Zatezalo for presiding over this quantum leap in how mine inspectors do their job. This new technology will not stop an inspector from writing a citation because he doesn't like the color of your ladder or because the light bulb in the maintenance garage is not a higher wattage, but it does give him greater access to information. And good information is always a good thing. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722 - 4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 5, (ISSN 0035 - 7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of Technology in Unlikely Places

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - MAY 2018