Rock Products

JUN 2018

Rock Products is the aggregates industry's leading source for market analysis and technology solutions, delivering critical content focusing on aggregates-processing equipment; operational efficiencies; management best practices; comprehensive market

Issue link: https://rock.epubxp.com/i/989141

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 75

4 • ROCK products • June 2018 www.rockproducts.com The publicly traded aggregates companies released their first-quarter reports, and several items beg for a little perspective. Vulcan Materials came out of the gates strong with a 7 percent increase in its Aggregates segment gross profit to $148 million. This despite higher energy costs and shipment delays due to unusually cold and wet weather in certain markets. Other hurdles included a 26 percent increase in the unit cost for diesel fuel, the planned shutdown of three large facilities for repairs ahead of the construction season and above normal distribution costs due to lingering storm-related ship and what it called barge movement inefficiencies. Speaking of barge movements, check out our story on Vulcan's new ship The Ireland, in this issue. Martin Marietta Materials saw its first quarter numbers decline against last year. But not to worry. The company is also citing weather-related issues. Its first-quarter operating results compare unfavorably to the first quarters of 2017 and 2016 when the company benefitted from back-to-back years during which oddly favorable weather conditions in its markets allowed it to exceed expectations. The company concluded its acquisition of Bluegrass Materials, which is good news for them. Ward Nye, chairman, president and CEO of Martin Marietta believes the United States is in the midst of a steady, multi-year construction recovery, which is good news for everyone. Summit Materials saw its first quarter net revenue increase, but that increase is primarily due to recent acquisitions. In addition to several ready mixed plants, Summit added Stoner Sand in Missouri and Midwest Minerals in Kansas to its stable of operations. It is interesting to note that Summit's diesel fuel forward-purchase pro- gram has helped to mitigate the impact of that commodity's maddening price fluctuations. It is astounding to note that Summit's operating com- panies consume 30 million gallons of fuel each year. Elsewhere, LafargeHolcim noted that further market growth is antic- ipated in North America driven by residential and non-residential demand; Eagle Materials touted a recent cement plant acquisition as adding to its bottom line; and Cemex saw its gray cement, ready-mixed and aggregates volumes in the United States increase by 4 percent, 8 percent and 5 percent, respectively. Mark S. Kuhar, editor mkuhar@rockproducts.com (330) 722‐4081 Twitter: @editormarkkuhar SEMCO PUBLISHING CORPORATE OFFICE 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B-1 Denver, Colorado 80231 U.S.A. P: +1.303.283.0640 F: +1.303.283.0641 PRESIDENT/PUBLISHER Peter Johnson, pjohnson@semcopublishing.com EDITOR Mark Kuhar, mkuhar@rockproducts.com ASSOCIATE EDITOR Josephine Patterson, jpatterson@semcopublishing.com PRODUCTION MANAGER Dan Fitts, dfitts@semcopublishing.com GRAPHIC DESIGNER Michael Florman, mflorman@semcopublishing.com PROJECT MANAGER Tanna Holzer, tholzer@semcopublishing.com CIRCULATION Juanita Walters, jwalters@semcopublishing.com SALES U.S., CANADA SALES Sean Carr, scarr@rockproducts.com Tel +1 216 409 9026 and Kyle Nichol, knichol@rockproducts.com Tel +1 330 819-3470 GERMANY SALES Gerd Strasmann, strasmannmedia@t-online.de Tel +49 2191 93 1497 SCANDINAVIA, UNITED KINGDOM AND WESTERN EUROPE SALES Jeff Draycott, jeff.draycott@womp-int.com Tel +44 (0) 786 6922148 Colm Barry, colm.barry@telia.com Tel +46 (0) 736 334670 JAPAN SALES Masao Ishiguro, ma.ishiguro@w9.dion.ne.jp Tel +81 (3) 3719 0775 AUSTRALIA/ASIA SALES Lanita Idrus, lidrus@asiaminer.com Tel +61 3 9006 1742 Rock Products, Volume 121, Issue 6, (ISSN 0035‐7464) is published monthly by Mining Media Inc., dba Semco Publishing, 10 Sedgwick Drive, Englewood, Colorado 80113. Periodicals postage paid at Englewood Colorado, and additional mailing offices. Canada Post Publications Mail Agreement No. 40845540. Canada return address: Station A, PO Box 54, Windsor ON N9A 6J5, Current and back issues and additional resources, including subscription request forms and an editorial calander, are available online at www.rockproducts.com. SUBSCRIPTION RATES: Free and controlled circulation to qualified subscribers. Non-qualified persons may subscribe at the following rates: USA and Canada, 1 year $72.00, 2 year $119.00, 3 year $161.00. For subscriber services or to order single copies, write to Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, Colorado 80231 USA; call +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207 (USA) or visit www.rockproducts.com ARCHIVES AND MICROFORM: This magazine is available for research and retrieval of selected archived articles from leading electronic databases and online search services, including Factiva, LexisNexis, and ProQuest. For microform availability, contact ProQuest at 800-521-0600 or +1.734-761-4700, or search the Serials in Microform listings at www.proquest.com. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Rock Products, PO Box 828, Northbrook, IL 60065-0828. REPRINTS: Rock Products, 8751 East Hampden Avenue, Suite B1, Denver, CO 80231 USA; P: +1.303.283.0640 ext. 207, F: 1+303.283.0641, www.rockproducts.com PHOTOCOPIES: Authorization to photocopy articles for internal corporate, personal, or instructional use may be obtained from the Copyright Clearance Center (CCC) at +1.978.750.8400. To obtain further information, visit www.copyright.com COPYRIGHT 2018: Rock Products ALL RIGHTS RESERVED Circuation audited by Official Media Partner Member of A Little First Quarter Perspective

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Rock Products - JUN 2018